TIMIOS STAVROS, ANOGYRA

A fascinating trip into the past is a visit to the ruins of the Timios Stavros Monastery just on the outskirts of the village of Anogyra in Limassol District.  Anogyra has so much to see in the village itself, the Carob Museum, and Olive Oil Museum, but more on those in later blogs.

 
We like to travel there in the early hours of summer mornings, to enjoy our exploits in the cool morning breezes, and to watch the sun rising to the east over Limassol while the air slowly fills with the haze of summer insects.
 
Birds abound up here, from the “regulars” of magpies and crows to the spectacular visits of the migratory bee-eaters with their beautiful calls and amazing acrobatics.
 
 
Driving up the into the hills from the Village of Avdimou, we pass a small natural spring on the side of the road, flowing into a basin surrounded by ferns and green mosses.  A little further up the winding road on the right side is the Monastary of Timios Stavros (Sacred or Holy Cross).
 
 
The monastery ruins are from the Byzantine period and primarily include an early Christian basilica that was divided into rooms, and several outbuildings that have been used as living quarters for the monks and apparently also as an olive oil factory.
 
The Timios Stavros Monastery was built in the 14th century and much later abandoned in the 19th century.  The current church building, Timios Stavros Church, was built on the northeast corner of the monastery ruins in about 1436, and has the remains of beautiful murals of the Palaeologue technique derived from the second Byzantine renaissance.
 
 
Click the link below to read more about TIMIOS STAVROS, ANOGYRA
 
 

 

GREAT HOTEL RATES BOOK ONLINE

City/Area
Hotel
Check in
Nights
Check out
Clubcode
Room
 
Adult(s)  / Child  / Infant
Room 1: